Home > Bishop's Dinner 2014 > Thank You!

2014 Pro-Life Persons of the Year

The 2014 Father Edward Robinson O.P., Pro-Life Persons of the Year are a "Trifecta" of Amazingly Awesome Pro-Life Knights of Columbus:

TOM CLARK                 DAVID HOLDER                 CHRIS MATERA - In Memoriam

Tom, David, and Noreen Matera (on Chris's behalf) accepted this honor from Bishop Kevin Farrell at The Bishop's 21st Annual Catholic Pro-Life Dinner on April 5, 2014.

More about the honorees:

Tom Clark

Tom, member of Knights of Columbus Council 11862, has served the pro-life cause in innumerable ways, most notably as Diocesan and State Pro-Life Chairman for the Knights of Columbus for the last 8 years, President of Hike for Life Texas for 13 years, and as an integral part of the annual Roe Memorial events. In the words of a fellow Knight: "I haven't come across someone with quite the compassion for saving human [life] other than Tom."

David Holder

David, a member of Knights of Columbus Council 799, "represents the 'everyman' in the pro-life community". From serving as Grand Marshal for the annual Dallas March for Life to organizing the Stand Up for Life benefit raising funds for Catholic pregnancy resource centers to serving as site coordinator for the Dallas Hike for Life, David is a "shining example of service to the Knights and to the pro-life movement".

Chris Matera - In Memoriam

Chris was a member of Knights of Columbus Council 9903 for which he served as Grand Knight and Pro-Life Director. His was "a driving force" for the pro-life movement in not only the Knights, but also his parish, acting for many years as the site coordinator for the McKinney Hike for Life, and assisting many CPLC Project Gabriel families. Chris was called home to the Lord on August 17, 2013. His wife Noreen will accept the award on his behalf.

Through the Years . . .

The Father Edward Robinson, O.P., Pro-Life Persons of the Year:

1994 Father Edward Robinson, O.P.

1995 Dr. Janet E. Smith

1996 Father Denis O'Brien, MM

1997 Sheila Higgins

1998 Laura Garcia Weston

1999 Gerri Everett

2000 Norma Leah McCorvey

2001 Dr. J. Patrick McCarty

2002 Fonda Lash, Ann Hollacher & Paul Robertson

2003 Tom & Sue Cyr

2004 Bob & Margaret Baillargeon

2005 Zuzanna & James Fennell, Jr.

2006 Bill & Loretta Schraufnagel

2007 Aurora & Xavier Tinajero

2008 JoAnn & Michael Murray

2009 Dr. Daniel McDonald

2010 Reverend David Allen and the Pro-Life Community of St. Francis Anglican Church

2011 Carol Everett

2012 Angela Heiter

2013 Beth Riley, M.T.S.

2014 Tom Clark, David Holder, Chris Matera - In Memoriam